jump to navigation

Receding waters October 13, 2010

Posted by therealtinlizzy in Uncategorized.
trackback

My Facebook by-line today should be “is having a lonely day.” Just presently feeling the distance from people I care about whose circles no longer overlap with my own, and acutely feeling the disconnect of no longer being a part of a larger thing – which is something that my personality clearly craves. I don’t miss the org I was a part of specifically – as I remain relieved and grateful for that chapter to be closed. I just miss the more general connectedness, common purpose, and specific bits of camaraderie and individuals in which/whom I did find meaning and good things.

Seems it’s just taken awhile for that aspect of leaving to have caught up with me, I suppose simply due to the initial overwhelming flood of relief and done-with-this that hauled me off in the aftermath. As those waters have begun to recede, I get to look around and see what notions and feelings emerge.

Bad metaphors aside – feeling the aloneness, separation and relative isolation is no bad thing, it’s oddly a good exercise for me. A fasting of sorts, forcing myself to just be present with those things which remain close, rather than rushing off after the next thing that smells delicious to my driving sense of being part of something.

So bad metaphors not aside afterall. And if there’s one thing I’m good at as a relational database type of thinker – it’s bad metaphors, and lots of them.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

